Jason Kenney leaves Drew Barnes out of cabinet after being sworn in

By Canadian Press
April 30, 2019 - 11:17am

Former federal cabinet minister Jason Kenney has been officially sworn in as Alberta's premier.

The United Conservative leader becomes the 18th person to head the province's government.

He is expected to hold his first cabinet meeting immediately after his ministers are sworn in.

22 MLA's were given cabinet posts, but that didn't include Cypress-Medicine Hat United Conservative elect Drew Barnes.

Barnes has experience as a critic for multiple portfolio's, including finance and health.

There was specualtion Barnes, who is serving his third term, would be given a cabinet appointment. 

One name that also didn't make it into cabinet is Mark Smith, the UCP elect for Drayton Valley-Devon.

Smith has been under fire for homophoic and anti-abortion comments.

The ceremony at Government House in Edmonton marks the formal end of the four-year NDP government under former premier Rachel Notley.

Kenney's UCP defeated the New Democrats in the provincial election April 16 when the party won 63 seats to the NDP's 24.

Notley has promised to stay on as Opposition leader and will have an experienced caucus that includes 12 former cabinet ministers.

A new session of the legislature is to begin later in May.


Canadian government boosts loans for canola farmers