Barnes wins third term in Cypress-Medicine Hat

By Charles Lefebvre
April 16, 2019 - 8:49pm

MEDICINE HAT, AB — Drew Barnes will be returning to the provincial legislature.

The United Conservative Party candidate was elected with an overwhelming majority of the vote in his riding of Cypress-Medicine Hat.

With 9 of 99 polls in the riding reporting, Barnes has received 62.55 per cent of the vote

NDP candidate Peter Mueller is currently in second place, receiving 30 per cent of the vote.

Colette Smithers with the Alberta Party is currently in third place with 128 votes.

Terry Blacquier, running under the Alberta Advantage Party banner, has received 27 votes

Anwar Kamaran with the Alberta Liberals has received 16 votes.

Barnes’ win will see him serve his third term in the Cypress-Medicine Hat. He was first elected in 2012 with the Wildrose Party, which merged with the Progressive Conservative Party in 2017 to form the UCP.

Most recently, Barnes served as the United Conservative Party’s Shadow Finance Minister.

More to come.

Michaela Glasgo wins Brooks-Medicine Hat riding