Martin, Slack big winners at Rattlers year-end awards banquet

By Scott Roblin
March 30, 2019 - 4:12pm

MEDICINE HAT, AB – For Becky Martin and Jaamel Slack, a return to Medicine Hat College ended with some prestigious hardware on Friday night.

In front of teammates and family at the Medicine Hat Lodge, Martin and Slack were recognized with the Medicine Hat College Rattlers female and male athlete of the year awards.

Martin, who returned to ACAC competition after taking a year off due to injury, won the ACAC women’s golf championship in the fall and ended her collegiate career with a fourth place finish at CCAA Nationals.

She also helped the Rattlers women’s golf team to a national silver medal on their home course at Desert Blume Golf Club back in October.

Martin also took home the Rattlers Player’s Choice award in the golf category.

As for Slack, he returned to Medicine Hat College after two years in British Columbia to finish his ACAC career with the team he started it with.

Slack finished his senior year averaging 17 points per game, along with 4.5 rebounds and 1.8 assists over 21 contests.

The Rattlers men’s basketball team finished just off the podium in fourth place at the ACAC Championships, losing a 107-104 thriller to the University of Alberta-Augustana Vikings.

Slack was also a leader in the classroom for the Rattlers, named a CCAA Academic All-Canadian alongside women’s basketball player Morgan Muir, and women’s soccer stars Cassidy LaRochelle and Kaylei Hole.

Here is the full list of Rattlers award winners from Friday night:

Male Athlete of the Year: Jaamel Slack (MBB)

Female Athlete of the Year: Becky Martin (Golf)

Male Rookie of the Year: Arthur Rosa (MBB)

Female Athlete of the Year: Rhiannon Ware (WBB)

Lisa Tschritter Memorial Award: Molly Marie (WVB)

Golf Awards: Becky Martin (Player’s Choice), Ciara Bonogofski (Rattler Award), Sierra Zukowski (Most Improved)

Women’s Soccer Awards: Kassidy Suberlak (Player’s Choice), Kaylei Hole (Rattler Award), Maddie Tole (Most Improved)

Men’s Soccer Awards: Connor Ismond (Player’s Choice), Mike Gurski (Rattler Award), Sloan Dykema (Most Improved)

Women’s Basketball Awards: Kendell Kuntz (Player’s Choice), Kristen Skjonsby (Megan Kondor Memorial Award), Abygail LaRochelle (Most Improved)

Men’s Basketball Awards: Jaamel Slack (Player’s Choice), DeAngelo Ashley (Rattler Award), Nick Murschell (Most Improved)

Women’s Volleyball Awards: Brooke Christie (Player’s Choice), Janelle Neyron (Rattler Award), Britney Kasdorf (Most Improved)

Men’s Volleyball Awards: Alfred Dalevik (Player’s Choice), Griffin Moline (Brett Bell Memorial Award), Nikola Sreckovic (Most Improved)

Women’s Futsal Awards: Israel Honig (Player’s Choice), Kaylei Hole (Rattler Award), Shelby Bach (Most Improved)

Men’s Futsal Awards: Victor Cambeiro (Player’s Choice), Stephen Copeland (Rattler Award), Sloan Dykema (Most Improved)

CCAA Academic All-Canadians: Morgan Muir (WBB), Jaamel Slack (MBB), Cassidy LaRochelle (WSOC), Kaylei Hole (WSOC)

Minor Officials of the Year: Kennedy Werre, Dragana Vukovic

Rattlers Fan of the Year: Kym Porter

Rattlers Appreciation Award: Wayne Resch

Midget AA Hounds fall to 2-1 at provincial tournament